Who are we?

The French clay group (GFA) in short...

The French Clay Group is an association governed by the law of July 1, 1901 (n° 08223) which aims at contributing to the progress of knowledge on clay minerals, clays and clayey rocks, from a multidisciplinary point of view.

According to its bylaws, the aims of the French Clay Group are:

a) to contribute to the progress of knowledge on clays, clay minerals and materials , natural, synthetic, and modified, in all fields of science, pure and applied.

b) to ease, by all means at its disposal, studies and works in the field, as well as all exchanges of views between interested personalities.

The French Clay Group is part of the European Clay Groups Association (EGCA) which publishes the journal Clay Minerals and is a member of the International Association for the Study of Clays (Association Internationale Pour l'Etude des Argiles -AIPEA).

The French clay group is also one of the 27 founding associations of the French Federation of Materials (FFM) created to strengthen the image of materials in France and which, every four years, organizes a conference bringing together the French scientific community working in the field of materials.

Main activities of the French clay group

The French clay group organizes an annual meeting that aims to be a place of exchange between scientists from academia and industry, French and foreign, and a showcase of the French activity in the field of clay science. It is also a unique opportunity for young researchers (Ph.D. and post-doctoral students) to present their work in a friendly atmosphere but also to get to know and be known by the national "clay" community. The best papers presented during the conference are rewarded by prizes supported by our industrial partners.
Each year the French clay group awards scholarships to PhD students and post-docs to attend its annual meeting and European / international conferences.

In 2009, members of the French clay group also initiated the creation of a National Master in clay studies (MNA) and the of Erasmus Mundus IMACS (International Master in Advanced Clay Science) Master program, that recently evolved into a Master in Materials-Minerals Engineering. This program aims at training high-level specialists in the field of clay science by providing them with the fundamental bases, skills and techniques necessary to fully assimilate recent developments in these minerals and their fields of application.

Présidente : Vanessa Prévot (Université Clermont-Auvergne - CNRS)
Vice-président : Eric Ferrage (IC2MP, université de Poitiers)
Secrétaire : Erwan Paineau (Univ. Paris Saclay - CNRS)
Trésorier : Jérôme Labille (CEREGE - Aix-en-Provence)

Commission Formation : Emmanuel Tertre (IC2MP, Poitiers)
Commission Relations avec les communautés scientifiques : Maguy Jaber (LAMS, Paris), Bruno Lanson (ISTerre, Grenoble)
Commission Communication : Dimitri Denelee (IMN, Nantes), Damien Cornu ( LCPME, Nancy)
Commissions Argilothèque : Martine Lanson (ISTerre, Grenoble)
Commission Relations Monde Socio-économique : Christelle Latrille (CEA, Saclay)
Commission "Club jeune" : Liva Dzene (IS2M, Mulhouse)

Dimitri Deneele (Univ. Nantes, Univ. Gustave Eiffel) / Liva Dzene (Univ. Mulhouse) / Bruno Lanson (Univ. Grenoble-Alpes - CNRS) / Christelle Latrille (CEA Saclay)

Le conseil d'administration est constitué de :

CORNU Damien (LCPME, Nancy), DZENE Liva (IS2M, Mulhouse), FERRAGE Eric (IC2MP, Poitiers), FORANO Claude (ICCF, Clermont-Ferrand), GREGOIRE Brian (IC2MP, Poitiers), HUBERT Fabien (IC2MP, Poitiers), JABER Maguy (LAMS, Paris), JOURDAIN Alexandra (IS2M, Mulhouse), JOUSSEIN Emmanuel (E2Lim, Limoges), LABILLE Jérôme (CEREGE, Aix-Marseille), LANSON Martine (ISTerre, Grenoble), LANSON Bruno (ISTerre, Grenoble), LATRILLE Christelle (CEA, Saclay), LECOMTE Gisèle (IRCER, Limoges), PAINEAU Erwan (LPS, Saclay), PREVOT Vanessa (ICCF, Clermont-Ferrand), ROBIN Valentin (E2Lim, Limoges), TERTRE Emmanuel (IC2MP, Poitiers).

The map below lists (on a voluntary basis) the laboratories of which some members are members of the French Clay Group, their specific fields of expertise and interests.
Do not hesitate to contact the laboratories directly for more information or the French Clay Group through its president (see contact form)

Liste des présidences du GFA :

1947-1954 : Jean Orcel

1954-1956 : Jean Wyart

1956-1958 : Jacques Méring

1958-1961 : Stéphane Hénin

1961-1964 : Raymond Hocart

1964-1967 : Simonne Caillère

1967-1969 : Yves Letort

1969-1972 : Georges Millot

1973-1975 : Georges Pédro

1976-1978 : Raymond Wey

1978-1978 : Jean Chaussidon

1979-1981 : Henri Pézerat

1982-1984 : Cyril Tchoubar

1985-1987 : Jean Mamy

1988-1990 : Bernard Siffert

1990-1994 : Médard Thiry

1994-1998 : Alain Decarreau

1998-2002 : Jacques Yvon

2003-2007 : Faïza Bergaya

2007-2011 : Jocelyne Brendlé

2011-2015 : Jean-Louis Robert

2015-2019 : Bruno Lanson

2019-2023 : Maguy Jaber

2023-... : Vanessa Prevot

CASES Jean-Marie
CLAUER Norbert
LAGALY Gerhard
PEDRO Georges
VENIALE Fernando